DECISIONS OF THE AUDIT COMMITTEE

25 SEPTEMBER 2008

COMMITTEE:

*Councillor Jeremy Davies BA (Hons) CPFA (Chairman) *Councillor Daniel Webb (Vice-Chairman)

Councillors:

* Danish Chopra
* Mukesh Depala
* Marina Yannakoudakis BSc (Hons) MA
* Marina Yannakoudakis DSc (Hons) MA
* Dean Cohen (substituting for Councillor Mukesh Depala)

*denotes Member present \$ denotes Member absent on Council Business

1. MINUTES:

RESOLVED – That the decisions of the meeting held on 30 June 2008 be approved as a correct record.

2. ABSENCE OF MEMBERS:

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor Mukesh Depala.

3. PUBLIC QUESTION TIME:

There were no public questions.

4. DECLARATIONS OF MEMBERS' PERSONAL AND PREJUDICIAL INTERESTS: No interests were declared.

5. MEMBERS' ITEMS:

There were no Members Items.

6. EXTERNAL AUDITOR'S REPORT UNDER INTERNATIONAL STANDARD ON AUDITING (ISA) FOR THE YEAR 2007/08 (Chief Finance Officer – Item 6)

The Head of Strategic Finance prior to presenting the report tabled an updated Statement of Accounts for the year ended 31 March 2008 with a log of changes from the original statement. Following a short discussion the Committee

RESOLVED -

(1) That the matters raised by the External Auditor relating to detailed aspects of the 2007/08 accounts, including the pensions accounts audit be noted.

(2) That the Officer response to matters raised by the External Auditor be noted.

(3) That it be noted that at this stage in the audit there are no material adjustments identified by the External Auditor that will not be processed by Officers.

(4) That the Statement of Accounts be signed by the Chairman of the Audit Committee as having been approved.

7. ANNUAL GOVERNANCE STATEMENT 2007/08 (Director of Corporate Governance – Item 7)

During the discussion on his report the Director of Corporate Governance agreed that at an appropriate time he would provide the Committee with an update on the progress of the 2008/09 statement. The Committee

RESOLVED – That the Annual Governance Statement for 2007/08 be approved.

The meeting closed at 7.47pm